Autors i Autores

Lluís-Anton Baulenas


Lluís-Anton Baulenas (Barcelona, 1958) is a novelist, translator and playwright.

He began his literary career with the publication of the novels Rampoines/451 (1990), Noms a la sorra (1995), Alfons XIV, un crim d'Estat (1997), El fil de plata (1998, winner of the Carlemany and Serra d'Or Critics' prizes) and La felicitat (2001, winner of the Prudenci Bertrana Prize). His novels Amor d'idiota (2003), Àrea de servei (2007) and La vostra Anita (2015) have been adapted for the screen by the film-maker Ventura Pons with the respective titles Amor idiota (2004), A la deriva (2010) and Anita no perd el tren (2000). In 2004 he won the Ramon Llull Prize for Per un sac d'ossos and, in 2008, the Sant Jordi Prize for the novel El nas de Mussolini. In 2013 he published the novel Quan arribi el pirata i se m'emporti. He received the City of Alzira prize for his novel Amics per sempre in 2016.

He has also published short story collections including Qui al cel escup... (1987), Càlida nit (1990) and Un amor a cada bar (2002), as well as the essays El català no morirà (2004) and L'últim neandertal (2014). Besides receiving the 1989 and 1995 City of Alcoi prizes, his plays, in particular Melosa Fel (1993) and El pont de Brooklyn (1995), have been performed on numerous occasions.

His work has been translated into a dozen languages. He has translated, from French and English, classics by authors like Truman Capote, George Orwell, Arthur Conan Doyle and Marguerite Yourcenar, among others. He writes cultural articles and literary criticism for dailies including El País, Ara, El Periódico de Catalunya, La Vanguardia and El Punt Avui.

Baulenas is a member of Associació d'Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (Association of Catalan Language Writers – AELC).

Web page: M. Lluïsa Bruch and Maria Areny for AELC.
Update: Josep Miàs.
Photographs: author's personal files and AELC. Opening photograph: © Ajuntament d'Alzira.
Translated by Julie Wark.