Autors i Autores

Miquel De Renzi


Miquel De Renzi (Barcelona, 1941) is a poet and Professor of Palaeontology.

With a degree in Geology from the University of Barcelona, he was appointed to the Chair in Palaeontology at the University of Valencia in 1977. In addition to his scientific work, he is one of the leading poets of the 1970’s Generation. Influenced in his early books by the work of Salvador Espriu, he has published the collections Tres fan la centena. Obra poètica 1973-1976 (1978), Les sales d’espera. Obra poètica 1976-1978 (1981), Un projecte pictòric (1983), Descripció d’un riu (1983), L’assalt al jardí (1986), El missatger i les ciutats (1990), and Flocs de temps (2001). The volume La nuesa del basament. Obra poètica 1971-1973 (1999) brings together his early poems. In 1982 he held his first exhibition as a painter and, since 1990, he has been exhibiting regularly in solo and joint shows. He is also author of the book Benet Rossell (1995), about the painter of the same name. In recent years he has been a member of the editorial board of the Valencia-based magazine L’Espill and he has been a jury member for the Vicent Andrés Estellés Prize for Poetry, the Valencia City Critics’ Prizes, and the Valencian Writers Critics’ Prize.

He is a member of the Catalan section of PEN International and also a founding member of the Associació d'Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (AELC – Association of Catalan Language Writers).

Web page: Toni Terrades for AELC.
Documentation: Miquel De Renzi.
Photographs: Author’s personal files.
Translation: Julie Wark.