Autors i Autores

Tomàs Llopis


Tomàs Llopis i Guardiola (Beniarbeig, 1954), is a teacher and writer. With an Arts degree specialising in Modern Philology from the University of Valencia, he is now a retired high school teacher of Catalan Literature after working in schools in Solsona, Amposta, Benissa, and Pego, where he now resides.

He has combined his classroom activity with writing books about teaching literature and has also published works of criticism, literary studies, translation, and editing the work of other authors. He has published two books of poems, Palau de cendra (2000, winner of the 25 of April Vila de Benissa Prize) and Sospirs de Babel (2006), as well as two traditional tales, the short story “Lluc” (2006), the novels Les volves d’aquella neu (2008) and Hi ha morts que pesen cent anys (2013, winner of the October 2012 Andròmina Prize), his memoirs of being a teacher, Contra les aules (2016) and Cremareu aquesta carta (2023, winner of the Ciutat d'Alzira Prize). 

For many years he has been active in cultural activities and is a member of the Board of Directors of the association Acció Cultural del País Valencià. Moreover, he gives poetry recitals, accompanied by the guitarist Miquel Pérez Perelló who, like him and others, is a member of the group Melodemodomies.

He is a member of the Associació d’Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (AELC – Association of Catalan Language Writers).


Web page: Toni Terrades for AELC.
Documentation and texts: Tomàs Llopis.
Photographs: Author’s personal files / Vicente Mas.