Autors i Autores

Jesús Moncada


Jesús Moncada (Mequinensa, Baix Cinca, 1941 - Barcelona, 2005) narrator and translator. His work is a re-creation, somewhere between realism and fantasy, of the mythical past of the old town of Mequinensa -now submerged beneath the waters of the River Ebro-.

Author of the collections of stories Històries de la mà esquerra (Stories of the Left Hand - 1981), El Cafè de la Granota (Frog Cafè - 1985), and Calaveres atònites (Astounded Skulls - 1999), and of the novels Camí de sirga (The Townpath - 1988), La galeria de les estàtues (The Statue Gallery - 1992) and Estremida Memòria (Shuddering Memory - 1997). He has been awarded a number of prizes for his work, amongst them the Joan Crexells Prize, the National Critics' Prize, the City of Barcelona Prize, and the Serra d'Or Critics' Prize. His works have been translated into more than ten languages, while the author himself has translated into Catalan a considerable number of works from Castilian, French and English. He was a member of the Associació d'Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (Association of Catalan Language Writers).

Web page: Xulio Ricardo Trigo for AELC.
Documentation: Lena Paüls.
Photograph: ©Joan Guerrero.