Autors i Autores

Joan M. Monjo


Joan M. Monjo (Gandia 1957 – 2007) was a novelist, prose writer, cultural activist and secondary school teacher.

Although he wrote the novels Ducat d'ombres (Duchy of Shadows), winner of the 1982 Andròmina Prize, and ¡Esborreu-me el record! (Wipe Out the Memory!, 1988), his concept of poetry, which was influenced by the romantic relationship between Nature and Poetry, led him to write mainly short literary pieces. Many of these were brought together from unpublished diaries and have been published sporadically both in collections –Oh! (1980), winner of the Joanot Martorell Prize of Gandia; Les quatre estacions (The Four Seasons, 1986), co-authored with Ignasi Mora and Josep Piera and winner of the Critics' Prize; 77 mirades a un mateix paisatge (77 Gazes at the Same Landscape, 2005) – and in reviews, supplements or cultural sections of periodical publications such as Lletres de Canvi, Tossal, Canigó, Cairell, L'Espill, El·lipsi, Ullal, Bagalina, Daina and Cavall Fort). In 2017 was published Oh! Dietaris inèdits.

Monjo's vitalistic perception of literature also led him to write novels for young people (Les ales d'Àngel Vidal – The Wings of Àngel Vidal, 1985), to revive historical characters of cultural interest (Lluís Català: l'home i l'escriptura – Lluís Català: The Man and His Writing, 1985), and also to work as an outstanding activist in the Valencian and Catalan cultural milieus by way of several radio programmes and other group initiatives.

Joan M. Monjo was the spokesperson for País Valencià on the board of the Association of Catalan Language Writers from 1985 – 1986.

Web page: Andreu Gabriel i Tomàs for AELC.
Photographs: Personal files of the family of Joan M. Monjo.
Our thanks to the author's family, in particular to Xavier Lledó i Noguera, and also to CEIC Alfons el Vell (Alfons el Vell Centre for Regional Studies and Research).
Translation: Julie Wark.