Autors i Autores

Rodolf Sirera


Rodolf Sirera (Valencia, 1948) has been working in different aspects of theatre for more than four decades, as a playwright, translator, critic, researcher, cultural manager, as well as adapting works for the stage, and other activities.

He is deemed to be one of the leading Catalan playwrights of the twentieth century and the most influential Valencian intellectual working in theatre. He has written more than forty works, some of them co-authored with his brother Josep Lluís. Notable among his plays are Plany en la mort d'Enric Ribera (Lament on the Death of Enric Ribera, 1974); El brunzir de les abelles (The Buzzing of the Bees, 1977); El verí del teatre (The Venom of Theatre, 1978), which opened the doors to international recognition; Cavalls de mar (Sea Horses, 1988); Indian Summer (1989); Maror: les regles del gènere (Undercurrent: The Rules of Gender, 1995); La caverna (The Cave, 1995); Silenci de negra (The Silence of Black, 2000); Benedicat (Blessed, 2006); and Trio (2011). He has written articles as a theatre critic, or scholar and researcher, for the press and such specialist reviews as Gorg, Cartelera Turia, Destino, Primer Acto, Serra d'Or, El Temps, Levante, Pausa and Estudis Escènics, among others. He has also adapted for the stage works by Albert Camus, Eduard Escalante, William Shakespeare and Henrik Ibsen. Since 1995, he has been working more as a scriptwriter, mainly for television series with such successful shows as Nissaga de poder (Lineage of Power, 1996-1998), El súper (The Super, 1996-1999), Temps de silenci (Time of Silence, 2001-2002) and Amar en tiempos revueltos (Love in Times of Upheaval, 2005-2012).

He has been Director for Music, Theatre and Cinema in the Department of Culture of the Generalitat (Government) of Valencia (1984-1988), director of the Teatre Principal of Valencia (1990-1993), Head of the Cultural Promotion and Audiovisual Media Service of the Department of Culture (1993-1995) and, on two separate occasions, a member of the Board of the Valencia Institute of Theatre, Cinema and Music (1987-1988 and 1989-1992). He is presently a member of the Valencia branch of the Spanish Society of Authors and Publishers (SGAE).

Tribute has been paid to his career in the form of numerous prizes, notable among which are the Serra d'Or Critics' Prize (four occasions), the Max Prize (twice, for Best Playwright and Best Adaptation), the Theatre Prize of the Valencia Community, the Born Prize, the Valencian Writers Critics' Prize (two occasions), and the National Prize for Culture of the Generalitat (Government) of Catalonia.

He is an honorary member of Associació d'Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (AELC, Association of Catalan Language Writers).

Web page: Josep Miàs for AELC.
Texts: Rosa Massanés and Josep Miàs.
Translated by Julie Wark.