Autors i Autores

Joan Perelló


Joan Perelló (Campos, Mallorca, 1953) is a poet and a writer.

Before the age of twenty he published his firsts poems under the title "És massa difícil" in the collective anthology Temptant l'equilibri (1973) with the authors Lleonard Muntaner, Damià Pons and Guillem Soler. Some of his early poems also appeared in the poetry magazine Domini Fosc, of which he was a cofounder. He went on to publish the poetry books Sempre trobaré algun dolor (1973), Baf de llavis (1976), which was awarded the Andreu Roig de poesia, and after a break of twenty-one years, Carasses (1997), awarded with the Bernat Vidal i Tomàs, La set del viatger (2001), Sal de Migjorn (2002), Manual d'ànsia (2005), Quadern de manobre (2007), awarded the Josep M. López-Picó Vila de Vallirana, A recer (2009), Inventari d'omissions (2011), La casa del vespre (2014) and L'atles deshabitat (2015). In 2016 he was awarded the Maria-Mercè Marçal prize for poetry, for his book El mapa de l'infinit and, on the next year, he published the anthology Abecedari de crepuscles (Tria personal 1973-2016). Some of his poems have been translated into English and French, and they are part of several collective anthologies.

In 2013 he published his first narrative work, L'error o la vida, and in 2015, the novel Música de la indiferència, awarded the Pare Colom Prize from Inca.

Joan Perelló is a member of Obra Cultural Balear, Centre Català del PEN and Associació d'Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (Association of Catalan Language Writers, AELC).

Page by Josep Miàs for AELC.
Documentation: Joan Perelló and Josep Miàs.
Photographs from the author's personal files.
Translated by Josep Miàs.