Autors i Autores

Olga Xirinacs


Olga Xirinacs (Tarragona, 1936) is a writer and piano teacher. She has a solid artistic background which gives depth to her literary work. She is a versatile writer and has published poetry, novels, stories and essays. Many of her books have been awarded major Catalan-language literary prizes, amongst them being: Interior amb difunts (Interior with Corpses) (Josep Pla Prize, 1982); Al meu cap una llosa (On my Head a Tombstone) (Sant Jordi Prize 1984, and Serra d'Or Critics' Prize for the Novel, 1986); Zona marítima (Maritime Area) (Ramon Llull Prize, 1986); Llavis que dansen (Lips that Dance) (Carles Riba Prize, 1987); Marina (Seascape) (Serra d'Or Critics' Prize for Children's and Young People's Literature); Enterraments Lleugers (Shallow Interments) (Sant Joan Prize, 1990); Sense malícia (Without Malice) (City of Palma Prize, 1994); Un cadàver per sopar (A Corpse for Dinner) (City of Badalona Prize for Young People's Narrative, 2000). She is the only woman who has been awarded the title "Mestre en Gai Saber" (Master in the Art of Poetry) in the Barcelona Jocs (Literary Contest) since Mercè Rodoreda.

In 1990, the Generalitat (Autonomous Government) of Catalonia awarded her the Creu de Sant Jordi. In 2022, she was honoured with the Premi Jaume Fuster dels Escriptors en Llengua Catalana.

Xirinacs is an honorary member of Associació d'Escriptors en Llengua Catalana.

This Web page has been produced with the support of the Institució de les Lletres Catalanes (Institute of Catalan Letters).
Documentation: Lena Paüls.
Up-date: Carme Ros.
Photographs: Personal files of the author / ©Xavier Carrion / AELC's files.
Translation: Julie Wark.